Skip to main content
MENU

Small Farms and Alternative Enterprises

Small Farms and Alternative Enterprises

Get Help From Us

Photo of an extension agent talking to a farmer

UF/IFAS Extension has an office in every Florida County.  While not every county has an Agent dedicated to small farms, find Extension resources near you or by subject matter below.  Florida A&M University also delivers Extension programming.  Check out what's available below, searching by topic or location.

UF/IFAS Extension Small Farms Experts

Specialties

Name

Email

Location

Northeast

Agricultural Economics,
Farm Business Start-Up
Kevin Athearn athearn@ufl.edu UF/IFAS North Florida Research and Education Center
Hydroponics, IPM, BMPs, Beneficial Insects, Vegetable Production, Food Safety Bob Hochmuth   bobhoch@ufl.edu UF/IFAS North Florida Research and Education Center- Suwannee Valley 
Livestock, Community Supported Agriculture, Small Farm Diversification David Nistler   dnistler@ufl.edu   UF/IFAS Extension, Union County   
Organic Farming, Organic Certification,
Farm Food Safety
Jose Perez  joseperezoro@ufl.edu   Department of Horticultural Sciences, University of Florida, Gainesville  
Plant Pathology, Horticulture, Pest Management Tatiana Sanchez  tatiana.sanchez@ufl.edu   UF/IFAS Extension,
Alachua County  
Vegetable, fruit and cover crop management, conservation tillage, organic farming, small farms, farm to school, food systems Danielle Treadwell  ddtreadw@ufl.edu  UF/IFAS, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist, Horticultural Sciences Dept., Gainesville
Agriculture, IPM Bonnie Wells bcwells@ufl.edu UF/IFAS Extension, St. Johns County

Northwest

IPM, BMPs, Beneficial Insects, Horticulture Production Alejandro Bolques abol@ufl.edu FAMU Research and Education Center, Quincy
Food Systems Education, Food Waste Education, Vegetable Gardening Molly Jameson mjameson@ufl.edu   UF/IFAS Extension, Leon County  
Agriculture  Libbie Johnson libbiej@ufl.edu UF/IFAS Extension, Escambia County
IPM, BMPs, Beneficial Insects, Horticulture Production, Food Safety  Matt Lollar mlollar@ufl.edu UF/IFAS Extension, Santa Rosa County

Central

Sustainable Agriculture, Food Systems Mark Bailey ironhill@ufl.edu   UF/IFAS Extension, Marion County
Sustainable Agriculture, Food Systems David Dinkins dinkins@ufl.edu UF/IFAS Central District 
IPM, BMPs, Beneficial Insects, Horticulture Production, Food Safety Liz Felter   LFelter@ufl.edu   UF/IFAS Mid-Florida Research & Education Center 
Nutrition, Wellness, Food Systems, Food Safety, Food Handler Education and Certification Gabriela Murza  gmurza@ufl.edu  UF/IFAS Extension, Osceola County 
Fruit Crops Juanita Popenoe  jpopenoe@ufl.edu UF/IFAS Central District
Small Farms, Food Systems Matt Smith  smith197@ufl.edu UF/IFAS Extension, Sumter County
Commercial Horticulture, Alternative Crops, IPM, Pesticide Training, Ag Awareness Karen Stauderman kstauderman@ufl.edu   UF/IFAS Extension,
Volusia County 
Small Farms, Food Systems, Beekeeping  Jessica Sullivan sullivan@ufl.edu UF/IFAS Extension, Osceola County
Aquaponics, Vegetable Production Richard Tyson rvt@ufl.edu UF/IFAS Extension, Orange County
Hydroponics, Integrated Pest Management, Urban Agriculture, Food Systems Hannah Wooten  hwooten@ufl.edu   UF/IFAS Extension,
Seminole County

Southwest

Beekeeping, Agritourism, Biofuels, Biochar  Roy Beckford Fbeck@ufl.edu UF/IFAS Extension, Lee County
Food Safety Travis Chapin tkchapin@ufl.edu UF/IFAS Citrus Research and Education Center, Lake Alfred
Beneficial Insects, Agritourism, Food Safety, Pesticide Training, Horticulture Mary Beth Henry   mbhenry@ufl.edu   UF/IFAS Extension, Polk County  
Food Systems/ Small Farms

Lisa Hickey  

lisa.hickey@ufl.edu UF/IFAS Extension, Manatee County 
Food Safety Matt Krug   mkrug@ufl.edu UF/IFAS Southwest Research and Education Center, Immokalee 
Animal Nutrition, Agri-Business,
Food Safety
Francisco P. Rivera Melendez friveramelendez@ufl.edu UF/IFAS Extension, Hillsborough County  
Community sustainability, Small Farms, Policy Jessica Ryals Jessicaryals@ufl.edu   UF/IFAS Extension,
Collier County
Community sustainability, Agriculture, Small Farms, Policy Coming Soon!   UF/IFAS Extension,
Sarasota County

Southeast

Sustainable agriculture, Small Farms Yvette Goddiel goodiel@ufl.edu UF/IFAS Extension, Martin County
Agriculture Christine Kelly-Begazo ckellybe@ufl.edu UF/IFAS Extension, Indian River County
Vegetable Production Gene McAvoy gmcavoy@ufl.edu UF/IFAS Extension, Hendry County
Horticulture, Farm Business Ed Skvarch eask@ufl.edu UF/IFAS Extension, St. Lucie County

Click here for a map of UF/IFAS Extension offices in each county, plus our Research and Education Center locations around Florida

Connect With Us

Dr. Danielle Treadwell
ddtreadw@ufl.edu
(352) 273-4775

Mary Beth Henry
mbhenry@ufl.edu
(863) 519-1049

Jose Perez Orozco
joseperezoro@ufl.edu
(352) 294-1692

  FL.SFAEC

  @FLSmallfarms

  YouTube Channel

  Small Farms Blog

  Blog RSS Feed

Calendar of Events button
Support Our Programs button with picture of girls looking at plants
Join the Newsletter button with picture of a rooster
Newsletter Archive button with picture of crop